A sheet metal brake and a shear set the quality ceiling for every part that leaves your shop: the shear decides whether the blank is square, the brake decides whether the flange lands where the print says. This category carries 177 machines from two builders, Baileigh Industrial (129) and GMC Machine Tools (48). Inside it are 41 leaf, straight and box-and-pan brakes, 22 hydraulic press brakes, one CNC folding machine, 46 shears and 5 three-in-one shear/brake/roll combination machines, plus 31 plate and slip rolls, 2 heavy-duty roll benders for profile and tube, and 9 ironworkers, plus a further 20 forming machines - bead rollers, shrinker stretchers, power hammers, an english wheel, a lock former, a notcher and two radial drills among them.
Three questions decide which metal brake machine you buy: how wide is the longest part, how thick is the heaviest material, and are you bending it once or two hundred times. Those answers point to a manual hand brake, a hydraulic box and pan brake, or a press brake.
▸ Read the full Sheet Metal Brakes & Shears buying guide — types, capacity, power and space, comparison table and FAQs
The kinds of brake in this category
Straight and leaf hand brakes
One continuous clamping bar, no fingers, so it cannot form a four-sided box. The Baileigh HBR-4820 is 48 in. long, takes up to 20-gauge mild steel and 18-gauge aluminum, bends up to 120 degrees and weighs 220 lb. The HB-9616 gives 96 in. in up to 16 gauge at 2,270 lb; the HB-12014 gives 120 in. in up to 14 gauge at 3,400 lb. GMC's SB-1014 covers 10 ft in up to 14-gauge mild steel and 18-gauge stainless.
Box and pan (finger) brakes
Segmented fingers let you bend the fourth side of a box without collapsing the first three, so read the finger set. The Baileigh BB-12014 carries 26 fingers across 120 in., takes up to 14-gauge mild steel and 18-gauge stainless, and reaches up to 6 in. of box depth. The BB-4812 packs that same 6 in. depth into a 48 in. machine at up to 12 gauge. At the entry point the BB-2416E is a 24 in., 16-gauge machine at 200 lb, but its maximum box depth is 1.1 in., not 6 in., on a five-finger set. GMC's BB-412-6HD, BB-612-6HD and BB-812-6HD run up to 12-gauge mild steel at 4, 6 and 8 ft, all with 6 in. box depth.
Hydraulic box and pan brakes
Past roughly 12 gauge at long widths, muscle stops being a realistic input. On the Baileigh BB-12010H the hydraulics clamp at the fingers, lift the bend leaf to a pre-set angle, then open the beam: up to 10-gauge mild steel across a full 120 in., 5 hp on 220 V three-phase, 7,700 lb. The BB-9610H does the same at 96 in. with crowning compensation. GMC's line runs HBB-0410 (4 ft) through HBB-1214 (12 ft), all with 6.02 in. maximum box depth. Six of the seven use a 26 in. manual back gauge; the HBB-1010NC replaces it with a programmable NC table gauge to 48-3/8 in. The HBB-1010 is rated 10 ft x 10 gauge mild steel and 10 ft x 12 gauge stainless.
Press brakes and the CNC folder
A press brake drives a punch into a die instead of clamping and folding, so it is rated in tons and changes profile by changing tooling. The range here is 33 to 224 tons. The GMC HPB-3305 delivers 33 tons over 63 in. with 51 in. between uprights and 8 in. throat depth; the HPB-7006 gives 70 tons over 80 in. at .0039 in. back-gauge repeatability. On the Baileigh side the BP-9078CNC delivers 90 tons with a Delem touchscreen, the BP-14013CNC 140 tons across 13 ft with an Estun E200 controller, and the BP-22413CNC 224 tons. If the real job is repeatable panel work, compare the GMC EFM-1014CNC folder: a bending beam through a programmable 0 to 135 degrees over 10 ft 1 in.
Shears: five ways to make a straight cut
Manual bench and throatless shears are the entry point. The MPS-8G has an 8 in. blade and takes 3/16 in. mild steel sheet at 45 lb; the MPS-5 reaches 7-gauge mild steel at 75 lb. Throatless means the base guides the offcut away from the blade, letting you cut curves inside a panel.
Foot (stomp) shears need no power: the Baileigh SF-5216 cuts 16-gauge mild steel over its full 52 in. at 1,060 lb. Air shears need no electrical service; the SH-5216A cuts up to 16 gauge over 52 in. on compressed air between 90 and 115 psi.
Mechanical shears trade adjustability for speed: GMC's EPS-0412M makes 35 strokes per minute against 12 to 20 on a comparable hydraulic machine. The EPS line covers 4 through 10 ft, with a 36 in. power back gauge on the EPS-1014E.
Hydraulic shears add hydraulic hold-downs plus jog, single-cycle and automatic modes. Blade gap adjustment is standard on the GMC HS line (Quick Change BGA with a gap dial); an adjustable rake angle is a feature of the Baileigh HD models - the GMC HS line runs a fixed 2 degree rake. Baileigh's SH line spans 52 to 120 in. at 16, 14, 10 and 8 gauge, and five of the HD models reach plate: up to 1/4 in. on the SH-5203-HD, SH-5203-HD-NC, SH-70250-HD and SH-120250-HD, and up to 1/2 in. over 120 in. on the SH-120500-HD. The other HD models (SH-5208-HD, SH-5210-HD, SH-8010-HD) are heavier-built gauge machines, not plate shears. GMC's HS line covers 4 to 10 ft, with German SIKO powered back gauges on most E models; the HS-1025E instead carries a 36 in. go-to NC powered back gauge with a touch screen.
Where the capacities actually stop
Width and gauge trade against each other. The widest brake here, the Baileigh BB-15722, spans 157 in. but is rated to 22-gauge mild steel; the 10-gauge brakes top out at 120 in. If you need 10 gauge at 12 ft, no leaf brake here does it. Shear cut length runs from a 4.25 in. bench blade to 120 in. Maximum thickness runs from 16 gauge on the SH-5216A air shear to 1/2 in. mild steel on the SH-120500-HD, with the benchtop SB-8 lighter still at a 20-gauge shearing capacity. Note the other direction too: the GMC hydraulic shears also state a minimum material thickness, 20 to 24 gauge, so very thin stock needs a lighter machine.
What your shop needs before the machine arrives
Electrical service surprises buyers most often. Of the 67 Baileigh listings that publish an "Input Power" line, 27 are fully manual, 31 run 220 V three-phase, 5 run 220 V single-phase and 4 run 110 V. GMC publishes the same information under "Main motor" rather than "Input Power," and nearly every powered GMC machine here is 220 V three-phase, most of them with a 440 V option - so treat three-phase as the norm in this category, not the exception. With no three-phase service your options narrow sharply: the Baileigh BP-3142NC press brake is specified at 220 V single-phase with a 2 hp motor and a 42-ton rating, and both the SH-5210 and the SH-5214 hydraulic shears are described as running on 220 V single-phase (those two state it in their descriptions rather than in the "Input Power" line, so they sit outside the count above). Where three-phase exists, size the circuit from the listing, not from horsepower: GMC publishes amperage, with the HBB-0410 at 220 V / 15 A, the HBB-1010 at 220 V / 35 A, and the HS-1025E at 20 HP, 220 V / 70 A three-phase only. Baileigh listings usually omit the amp figure, so check that model's spec sheet first.
Floor, space and rigging. Weights run from 19 lb to 34,000 lb (the R-H250 roll bender; the heaviest press brake is the BP-22413CNC at 29,600 lb), so floor loading is a real question above roughly 8,000 lb. GMC footprints give a planning baseline: HBB-0410 at 67 x 46 x 67 in., HS-1025E at 181 x 117 x 65 in. including back gauge and squaring arm. Watch the depth figures; a 10 ft shear needs clearance front and back, not just wall length. Both GMC press brakes stand 87 in. tall uncrated, but the HPB-7006 ships at 109 x 66 x 98 in., so measure the rigging path against the crate, not the machine. Of the GMC listings that state one, worktable heights run 30-1/2 to 34-1/2 in., with the HS-1025CNC guillotine standing higher at 39 in. Every GMC hydraulic model lists its oil tank capacity, but not all of them name the fluid: the GMC hydraulic box and pan brakes and both GMC press brakes name their tank capacity and recommended fluid (Shell #68, or #68HD on the press brakes), while the GMC shears and rolls publish tank capacity only, so confirm the fluid spec with us before the first fill.
Certifications and guarding the listings declare
GMC states "ISO 9001 certified" on its shears, rolls, press brakes and hydraulic box and pan brakes; its five manual brakes (SB-1014, BB-412-6HD, BB-612-6HD, BB-812-6HD and BB-1014-6HD) state the older "ISO 9002 certified" instead, so ask us to confirm the current certificate if it matters to your quality system. Its hydraulic shear listings state the machines meet OSHA safety standard code and include a full-length viewable finger guard and removable foot pedal. Several Baileigh press brakes (BP-3350NC, BP-3360NC, BP-5060NC, BP-6778NC, BP-9078NC) list light-beam guarding that stops the machine if a hand crosses the beam, and the BP-9078CNC specifies a six-sensor light curtain. The BP-3142NC-CSA is offered with CSA-compliant components and wiring, and Baileigh listings carry a California Prop 65 warning. No product here declares ALI, ETL or ASME certification, so do not assume one; if a standard matters in your jurisdiction, ask us to confirm it first.
Brake comparison
| Model | Type | Bending length | Mild steel | Max box depth | Power | Weight |
| Baileigh BB-2416E | Box and pan | 24 in. | Up to 16 ga | 1.1 in. | Manual | 200 lb |
| Baileigh HBR-4820 | Straight hand brake | 48 in. | Up to 20 ga | Not applicable | Manual | 220 lb |
| GMC BB-412-6HD | Box and pan | 4 ft | Up to 12 ga | 6 in. | Manual | 1,150 lb |
| GMC SB-1014 | Manual straight brake | 10 ft | Up to 14 ga | Not applicable | Manual | 3,250 lb |
| Baileigh BB-12014 | Box and pan | 120 in. | Up to 14 ga | 6 in. | Manual | 3,950 lb |
| GMC HBB-0410 | Hydraulic box and pan | 4 ft | Up to 10 ga | 6.02 in. | 5 HP, 220 V / 15 A, 3-phase | 4,050 lb |
| Baileigh BB-12010H | Hydraulic box and pan | 120 in. | Up to 10 ga | 6 in. | 5 hp, 220 V, 3-phase | 7,700 lb |
| GMC HBB-1010NC | Hydraulic, NC control | 10 ft | Up to 10 ga | 6.02 in. | 10 HP, 220 V / 35 A, 3-phase | 11,550 lb |
Seven of the eight bend to a maximum of 135 degrees; the HBR-4820 stops at 120 degrees. Between the 10 ft GMC hydraulics the back gauge decides: HBB-1010 manual to 26 in., HBB-1010NC programmable to 48-3/8 in.
Shear comparison
| Model | Type | Cut length | Mild steel | Stainless | Back gauge | Power | Weight |
| Baileigh MPS-8G | Manual bench | 8 in. blade | 3/16 in. sheet | Not stated | None | Manual | 45 lb |
| Baileigh SH-5216A | Air shear | 52 in. | Up to 16 ga | Not stated | Manual, length not stated (24 in. front gauge) | 90 to 115 psi air | 1,400 lb |
| GMC EPS-0412M | Mechanical | 4 ft | Up to 12 ga | 16 ga | 26 in. manual | 4 HP, 220 V / 15 A, 3-phase | 2,110 lb |
| Baileigh SH-5210 | Hydraulic | 52 in. | Up to 10 ga | Not stated | 24 in. adjustable | 5 hp, 220 V single-phase | 3,150 lb |
| GMC HS-0410E | Hydraulic | 4 ft | Up to 10 ga | 14 ga | 24 in. SIKO powered | 7-1/2 HP, 220 V / 30 A, 3-phase | 5,150 lb |
| Baileigh SH-12010 | Hydraulic | 120 in. | Up to 10 ga | Not stated | 24 in. adjustable | 7.5 hp, 220 V, 3-phase | 6,600 lb |
| GMC HS-0825E | Hydraulic plate | 8 ft | Up to 1/4 in. | 10 ga | 36 in. SIKO powered | 20 HP, 220 V / 70 A, 3-phase | 12,850 lb |
| Baileigh SH-120500-HD | Hydraulic plate | 120 in. | Up to 1/2 in. | Not stated | Programmable | See note below | 23,750 lb |
Five listing details to check before you order
- SH-120500-HD motor. Its specification table states 30 hp while the description says 20 hp. Treat the table as the more reliable figure and confirm before sizing the service.
- BP-11210CNC tonnage. Its model number matches the BP-11213CNC, whose listing states 112 tons, but its own description says 120 tons.
- EPS-0412M stroke rate. Its specification table states 35 strokes per minute while its feature list says 30. Treat the table as the more reliable figure and confirm before quoting cycle times.
- MPS-1 weight. Its specification table states 19 lb while its feature list says 18 lb. Either way it is a machine one person can carry, but the two figures do not agree.
- Two titles write feet as inches. The GMC BB-612-6HD is titled "6 in x 12 Gauge" and the HS-1010M "10 in x 10 Ga," but their tables give a 6 ft bending length and a 10 ft 1 in. blade. The tables are correct.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between a box and pan brake and a press brake?
A box and pan brake clamps the sheet under a segmented beam and folds it with a leaf, so it is rated by width and gauge, and the removable fingers let you form the fourth wall of a box. A press brake drives a punch into a die, is rated in tons, and changes profile by swapping tooling. Here the leaf brakes stop at 10-gauge mild steel while the press brakes run 33 to 224 tons.
Does the gauge rating apply across the full width?
On the machines that state it, yes. The BB-12014 is specified to bend along its full 10 ft width without twisting, and the BB-9610H across its full 96 in. That full-width rating is what the truss rods, counterweights and torsion systems are paying for, and it explains why two brakes of the same width can differ by thousands of pounds.
Can I run one of these on single-phase power?
A few. Every manual machine needs no service, and the SH-5216A air shear needs only 90 to 115 psi. Among powered machines, the BP-3142NC press brake, the SH-5210 hydraulic shear and the SH-5214 hydraulic shear are all specified at 220 V single-phase. The SH-5214 is a 52 in. x 14-gauge machine with an adjustable 24 in. back gauge, so if you need 10 gauge over the same 52 in. the SH-5210 is the one to quote instead. Most other hydraulic brakes and shears here are 220 V three-phase, and several GMC models list a 440 V option.
Will it cut or bend stainless at the same rating as mild steel?
No, derate it. The GMC HS-1010E is rated 10 ft x 10 gauge in mild steel but 10 ft x 14 gauge in stainless. GMC states the tensile assumptions behind its ratings: 60,000 PSI hot-rolled mild steel, 85,000 PSI stainless, 28,000 PSI soft aluminum. One caution: the GMC HS-0610MD capacity table lists soft aluminum and stainless in the reverse order from its sibling models, so verify those two figures on that model.
When is a hydraulic brake worth the jump over a manual one?
Two triggers. First, gauge and width together: a 10-gauge bend across 8 or 10 ft is not something an operator should do by hand all day, which is why the hydraulic BB-9610H and BB-12010H exist at those capacities while the manual machines at the same widths stop at 12 to 14 gauge. Second, repetition: the hydraulic machines add an adjustable auto-stop for the bend angle plus foot-pedal semi-automatic cycling.
How do I get a price, freight and lead time?
Every machine here is new equipment; JMC does not sell reconditioned machines and does not rent. Tell us the longest part you need to bend or cut, the heaviest material and alloy, and your electrical service, and we will confirm current pricing, freight and lead time. All 48 GMC machines and 15 Baileigh models here are flagged for free shipping on their product pages; the rest quote freight separately.