A rolling jack is what turns a four-post lift from a drive-on platform into a wheels-free service bay. It rides on the lift's jack rails or runway channels, rolls to the vehicle's factory lift points, and raises the chassis so the tires hang free for brake, tire, suspension and alignment work. JMC Automotive Equipment lists 56 items here, all new -- 55 rolling jacks and rolling bridge jacks plus the Challenger RJ04-PK air/hydraulic pump kit -- from nine brands: Challenger Lifts, BendPak, Stan Design, Quality Stainless Products (QSP), AMGO Hydraulics, Tuxedo, Norco Industries, Nussbaum and JMC Equipment. Capacity runs from 3,500 lb. on the Challenger RJ3.5 up to 50,000 lb. on the Stan Design J50000H.
The vocabulary moves around in this trade. Rolling jack, roller jack, wheeled jack, bridge jack and jack-and-roll system all describe the same tool. What decides the purchase is not the name but four numbers: capacity, the rail spacing the jack must span, how low it sits collapsed, and how high it lifts.
▸ Read the full Rolling Jacks buying guide — types, capacity, power and space, comparison table and FAQs
The four ways these jacks are powered
Hand pump, no air line needed
The Challenger Lifts RJ3.5 is a 3,500 lb. hand-pump jack with a 3 in. drive-over height, recommended for the CL4P7 four-post lift. The JMC Equipment RJ-45 carries 4,500 lb. Its feature list states "Hand Pump - No Air needed," while the body of the same page describes a compressed air pump. The feature list is the more reliable of the two, but confirm with us before you order this one for a bay with no air line. The AMGO Hydraulics RJ-6H carries 6,000 lb. on a manual pump and lifts in 22 seconds. The Challenger RJ4.5 page itself lists only 4,500 lb. of capacity and the CL4P9 series lift; Challenger's RJ04-PK pump kit page describes converting an RJ4.5 "from hand pump to air or hydraulic operation," which is the only place the RJ4.5 pump type appears. Ask us to confirm the pump, and current availability of the RJ04-PK kit, before ordering.
Air over hydraulic
The largest group. Shop air drives a hydraulic pump on the jack; a foot pedal or hand control does the lifting. It covers Challenger's eight air/hydraulic models, all eight BendPak bridge jacks, the AMGO RJ-6A, RJ-8A, RJ-10A and RJ-20A, both Tuxedo RAJ-7K units, both Norco bridges, both Nussbaum listings -- the JACK5000 and JACK7000, which state air hydraulic operation on the page and nothing else -- and the Stan Design J12000H and J15000H, the only two Stan pages that specify an air/hydraulic pump design.
The rest of the Stan Design line -- J6000H, J7500H, J9000H, J18000H, J25000H, J35000H and J50000H -- lists heavy-duty hydraulics with dual dead-man hand controls and publishes no air requirement, and the J9000H page states that the model exists in both a pneumatic variant, which works on an inflatable air bag, and a hydraulic one, which works on fluid cylinders. Confirm which variant you are ordering, and ask us for the spec sheet, before you assume a shop air line is needed.
Air bag, no hydraulics at all
Three designs lift on inflatable bags instead of oil. The QSP-JW-9000 states "Dual Air Bags (No Hydraulics)" with an 11 in. stroke. The Tuxedo RAJ-8K-L and RAJ-8K-H carry 8,000 lb. on dual air bags with an adjustable pressure regulator. The Stan Design J7000L Low Boy is a 7,000 lb. air bag jack collapsing to only 7 in. with 10.25 in. of rise.
Pneumatic pivoting, in lift-specific versions
QSP builds its RJ-6000, RJ-7000 and RJ-8000 pivoting pneumatic jacks in four versions each: a base model that fits most OEM alignment and general service lifts, plus an -H Hunter, an -R Rotary and a -C Challenger/Snap-on version. That is 12 of the 13 QSP listings here. Order the suffix that matches your lift.
Capacity: 3,500 lb. to 50,000 lb.
Rolling jacks are installed in pairs, and BendPak's RJ7W listing makes the arithmetic plain: each jack lifts half the vehicle frame. Its RBJ25000 page adds the heavy-duty caveat: two 25,000 lb. jacks support a vehicle up to 50,000 lb. when used correctly, and trucks and buses often need jacks rated above half the total weight because axle load and center of gravity vary. No single unit should ever be loaded past its listed capacity.
Most of the catalog, 3,500 to 9,000 lb., is passenger-car and light-truck work: the Challenger RJ3.5 through RJ9A, the BendPak RJ45W through RJ9W, the AMGO RJ-6H, RJ-6A and RJ-8A, all four Tuxedo models, the Stan Design J6000H, J7000L, J7500H and J9000H, and the QSP families. Medium and heavy-duty runs 10,000 to 20,000 lb.: AMGO RJ-10A and RJ-20A, Stan Design J12000H, J15000H and J18000H, BendPak RBJ15000 and RBJ18000, Challenger SAJ15 and RJ15. The top is Challenger SAJ25 and SAJ35, BendPak RBJ25000, and the Stan Design J25000H, J35000H and J50000H.
One naming trap: the Nussbaum listings are named by series, not rating. The JACK5000 is a 4,500 lb. air hydraulic jack and the JACK7000 a 6,000 lb. one. Read the capacity line, not the model number.
The measurement that decides fitment
Capacity is easy; fitment is where orders go wrong. The jack must span the gap between your lift's jack rails or runway channels, so measure it first.
- Narrow rails: Norco 79324G and 79335 brackets adjust to a rail range of 32 in. to 46-1/2 in. Challenger RJ9S and RJ9A adjust 34 in. to 42 in.
- Mid range: BendPak RJ45W support base width 35.5 in. to 46.5 in.; AMGO RJ-6H and RJ-6A, 33-11/16 in. to 52-13/16 in.; JMC Equipment RJ-45 base, 33.9 in. to 49.6 in.
- Wide rails: AMGO RJ-8A spans 36 in. to 56-1/2 in. Challenger SAJ15 adjusts 43 in. to 53.5 in., SAJ25 and SAJ35 45 in. to 55 in., RJ15 43.50 in. to 60.25 in. BendPak RBJ15000, 45.75 in. to 59 in. QSP JW-9000 suits a rail opening of 38-11/16 in. to 52-3/16 in. from rail center.
- Fixed: BendPak lists the RBJ18000 base width as a fixed 45 in.
Arm reach is the second number, and it is not the same measurement: it is how far the arms extend out to the vehicle's lift points once the jack is on the rails. The BendPak RJ6W, RJ7W and RJ9W reach 42 in. to 56 in., the RJ45LP 42 in. to 61 in., the RBJ15000 and RBJ18000 48.5 in. to 63.75 in., and the AMGO RJ-8A 34-1/2 in. to 66-1/8 in.
Drive-over height and lift height
Drive-over height is the clearance the collapsed jack leaves as a vehicle rolls onto the runways; it decides whether you can service low-stance cars. The lowest here is the BendPak RJ6W at 1.25 in. pad-only, rising up to 12 in. The RJ7W starts at 4 in. and rises up to 14.75 in., the low-profile RJ45LP at 4.25 in. and up to 15.25 in., the RJ9W at 5 in. and up to 15.75 in. The JMC Equipment RJ-45 sits 3.75 in. above the runway and lifts to 11.00 in., or 16.00 in. with its 5 in. extension.
Heavier jacks sit higher, and AMGO publishes two figures: an overall minimum height and a minimum rubber pad height. The RJ-6H and RJ-6A give 8.5 in. for both and reach up to 17.75 in. without adapters; the RJ-8A is 10.25 in. overall and 10-3/8 in. at the pad, the RJ-10A 11 in. and 11-1/4 in., and the RJ-20A 14-9/16 in. overall but 16-3/4 in. at the pad. Use the pad figure when you are checking drive-over clearance for a low-stance car. Stan Design's J7500H collapses to 7 in. with over 10.25 in. of rise. Both Norco bridges have a 9 in. stroke and note that maximum capacity requires the lifting surface to be raised at least 3.25 in. above its lowest point.
What the shop has to supply
Air. Tuxedo specifies 100 - 125 PSI at 10 - 20 CFM for the RAJ-8K. BendPak's RJ7W page asks for 125 PSI and 10-20 CFM at the air line while its spec table lists 100 psi as the minimum operating pressure. BendPak lists 100 psi as the minimum operating air pressure on the RJ6W, RJ7W, RJ9W and RJ45LP, and 125 PSI on the RJ45W and the three RBJ models. AMGO's pneumatic models list 0.8 MPa. Hand-pump models need no air at all, and the Stan Design hydraulic StanJacks publish no air requirement either -- ask us for the spec sheet before you plan an air drop.
Adapters and kits. Compatibility is not inclusion. BendPak includes rubber contact pads and stackable adapters on the RJ6W, RJ7W, RJ9W and RJ45LP but lists the air-line kit as optional and sold separately, the same as on the RBJ models, where steel lifting pads are standard only on the RBJ15000. Norco's 79324G and 79335 include two 3-1/2 in. adapters, two 5 in. adapters and two padded saddles, and their universal mounting brackets adjust to a 32 in. to 46-1/2 in. rail range -- but the adapter bracket kit that connects that bracket to the pit or lift rails, 79326D flat-end or 79327D hook-end, must be ordered separately. Both models are listed "w/o Adapter Kit." Challenger's RJ9A comes standard with four 3 in. stack adapters.
Freight and offload. Among the BendPak bridge jacks, published shipping weights run from 306 lb. on the RJ45LP to 792 lb. on the RBJ18000. Elsewhere the published figures are lighter: 325 lb. and 326 lb. on the two Norco bridges, 363 lb. on the JMC Equipment RJ-45, 426 lb. on the Tuxedo RAJ-8K and 480 lb. on the QSP JW-9000. The heaviest units in this category are heavier still -- the Stan Design J50000H is listed at 1,500 lb. and the J35000H at 1,200 lb. -- and the Stan Design and AMGO pages do not publish a crate weight, so ask for it before you book the delivery.
Every BendPak page here states that unloading the freight at the destination is the buyer's responsibility. The RJ45W, RBJ15000, RBJ18000 and RBJ25000 pages go further and list LTL shipping with a liftgate offload requirement; the RJ45LP, RJ6W, RJ7W and RJ9W pages do not publish a shipping method, so confirm the offload plan with us before delivery.
Twenty-one of the 56 listings -- every Challenger, BendPak and Norco model -- are flagged for free shipping. The Tuxedo and JMC Equipment pages publish a per-unit freight charge instead: $310 on the JMC Equipment RJ-45, $325 on the Tuxedo RAJ-7K-L, $340 on the RAJ-7K-H and $355 on both RAJ-8K units. Those figures cover the contiguous 48 states; Alaska, Hawaii and remote or limited-access locations are excluded and may cost more, and orders over two units are quoted individually. The AMGO, Nussbaum, Stan Design and QSP listings publish no shipping figure -- ask for a freight quote with the order.
Fitment by lift brand
Some jacks are engineered for one lift family. Challenger's SAJ15 is marked for use only with 44030 series four-post lifts and the RJ15 only with 4030 series; the SAJ25 and SAJ35 for the 44040, 44050 and 44060 series; the RJ4.5 for CL4P9, the RJ3.5 for the CL4P7, the RJ7.5 for the 4P14 series and the RJ9S for 44018 series lifts. On the BendPak side, the RJ45W is listed for HD-7, HD-9 and GP-9 series, the RJ45LP for HD-9, the RJ7W for HDS-14, the RJ9W for the HDS-18E, the RBJ15000 for the HDS-27, the RBJ18000 for HDS-35 and HDS-40, and the RBJ25000 for HDS-40.
Other lines are deliberately universal, but not on one single list. Stan Design lists its J12000H and up as universal for above-ground lifts and names Rotary, Challenger, Forward, Stertil-Koni, ARI-HETRA, Giro-Lift, Stenhoj and Mohawk. The lighter J6000H, J7000L and J9000H carry a different list -- Rotary, BendPak, Challenger, Wheeltronics, Snap-on, Hoffman, John Bean, Western, Benwill, Globe, Stenhoj and Hunter -- and each of those pages limits the fit to lifts in a stated capacity class: 12,000 and 14,000 lb. models for the J6000H and J7000L, with the J9000H adding 15,000 and 18,000 lb. models. AMGO positions the RJ-6A for four-post and scissor lifts below 12,000 lb. Both Norco bridges are built for quick lube pit applications or alongside above-ground lifts, the 79335 being the narrow-pit version, and Stan Design states its J15000H and larger Power Jacks will drop into an existing truck or bus inspection pit. Tuxedo builds both the RAJ-7K and the RAJ-8K in high-mount and low-mount versions. The RAJ-7K feature lists spell out the match: High Mount is for low position jack rails and Low Mount for high position rails. (The RAJ-7K-L opening paragraph says the opposite; the feature list is the reliable line.) The RAJ-8K pages give the bracket height, 1 in. adjustable, without naming the rail position -- confirm before ordering.
Locks, controls and certifications
Every page in this group that publishes a lock specification lists mechanical locking, but the count varies, and some pages publish none at all. BendPak's RJ7W and RJ9W each list three safety-lock positions; the RJ7W page adds that they lock automatically as the jack rises and release together as it descends. The JMC Equipment RJ-45 also lists three. AMGO lists a manual lock with two positions on the RJ-6H, RJ-6A, RJ-8A and RJ-10A; the RJ-20A listing does not state a lock count. The Tuxedo RAJ-7K lists two and the RAJ-8K one. Stan Design uses multi-level locks with dead-man hand controls, Challenger lists two-hand use as a safety feature on the RJ6, RJ7.5, SAJ15, RJ9S and RJ9A, and QSP's JW-9000 adds rollers that compress under load so the jack cannot roll while holding a vehicle.
None of the 56 listings declares an ALI, ANSI, ETL or ASME listing, so confirm certification against the model spec sheet if an inspection requirement drives the purchase. The pages carry California Prop 65 warnings on the BendPak and Norco models.
The QSP -H, -R and -C lift-specific versions and the two Nussbaum listings publish no lock, dimension or air specification on the page; ask us for the manufacturer sheet before ordering one.
Twelve models across the range
| Model | Brand | Capacity | Power | Rail or base span | Collapsed height | Fitment |
| RJ3.5 | Challenger Lifts | 3,500 lb. | Hand pump | Not published | 3 in. drive-over | CL4P7 series |
| RJ-45 | JMC Equipment | 4,500 lb. | Hand pump per feature list | 33.9 - 49.6 in. | 3.75 - 11.00 in. | Not published |
| RJ45LP | BendPak | 4,500 lb. | Air/hydraulic | Not published, ask us | 4.25 - 15.25 in. | HD-9 series |
| RJ6W | BendPak | 6,000 lb. | Air/hydraulic | Not published, ask us | 1.25 - 12 in. | Not published |
| RJ-6H | AMGO Hydraulics | 6,000 lb. | Manual pump | 33-11/16 - 52-13/16 in. | 8.5 - 17.75 in. | Not published |
| 79324G | Norco Industries | 6,000 lb. | Air/hydraulic | Rails 32 - 46-1/2 in. | Not published (9 in. stroke) | Pit or above-ground lifts |
| J7000L Low Boy | Stan Design | 7,000 lb. | Air bag | Not published | 7 in. collapsed | 12,000 - 14,000 lb. lifts |
| RAJ-8K-L | Tuxedo | 8,000 lb. | Dual air bags | 38-3/8 - 60 in. | 6-9/16 - 14-7/8 in. | Low mount, rail position not stated |
| JW-9000 | QSP | 9,000 lb. | Dual air bags | 38-11/16 - 52-3/16 in. | Not published (11 in. stroke) | Not published |
| J12000H | Stan Design | 12,000 lb. | Air/hydraulic | Adjustable rails, not published | Not published | Universal, above-ground lifts |
| SAJ15 | Challenger Lifts | 15,000 lb. | Air/hydraulic | 43 - 53.5 in. | Not published | 44030 series only |
| J50000H Power Jack | Stan Design | 50,000 lb. | Hydraulic | Not published | Not published | Universal, drops into pits |
BendPak does not publish a support base width for the RJ6W, RJ7W, RJ9W or RJ45LP; ask us for the manual before matching them to your rail spacing. What those pages do publish is arm reach -- 42 in. to 61 in. on the RJ45LP and 42 in. to 56 in. on the RJ6W -- which is the distance out to the vehicle's lift points, not the gap between your rails. The 9 in. figure on the Norco 79324G and the 11 in. on the QSP JW-9000 are stroke, not a height; the 79324G listing gives an overall height of 34.6875 in.
Frequently asked questions
How much capacity do I need?
Start from the vehicle, not the lift, and read the capacity line on the model you are considering. BendPak states it two ways on its own pages: two RBJ25000 bridge jacks can support a vehicle up to 50,000 lb. when used correctly, and on the RJ6W page BendPak notes that a pair may carry over twice the vehicle's weight, because no single unit should ever be loaded past its listed capacity. For trucks and buses BendPak is more conservative still: axle loading and center of gravity shift, so those jobs often call for jacks rated above half the total weight. Tell us the vehicle and we will size the pair.
Will a rolling jack fit my four-post lift?
Measure the spacing between your jack rails or runway channels, then match it to the support base width of the jack. Ranges here run from 32 in. on the Norco brackets to 60.25 in. on the Challenger RJ15. If a dimension is not on the listing, ask for the model spec sheet.
Do I need shop air?
For the BendPak, Tuxedo, AMGO pneumatic, QSP and Norco models, yes. BendPak lists 100 psi as the minimum on its RJ-series jacks and 125 PSI on the RJ45W and RBJ models; Tuxedo asks for 100 - 125 PSI at 10 - 20 CFM on the RAJ-8K and publishes no air figure on the RAJ-7K. Two exceptions to confirm before you plan an air drop: the Stan Design hydraulic StanJacks publish no air requirement at all, and the J9000H page describes a pneumatic variant as well as a hydraulic one. If your bay has no air line, the hand-pump options are the Challenger RJ3.5 and the AMGO RJ-6H, which lists a manual pump and no air pressure specification. The JMC Equipment RJ-45 lists a hand pump in its features but a compressed air pump in its description, and the Challenger RJ4.5 pump type appears only on the RJ04-PK kit page; ask us first on both.
Is a listing one jack or a pair?
Every Challenger jack page that states a quantity is priced as one jack: "1 jack" on the RJ7.5, SAJ25, SAJ35, RJ9S, RJ9A and RJ15, and "x1" on the RJ3.5 and RJ4.5. The RJ6 and SAJ15 pages state no quantity. BendPak does not publish a unit count on any of its eight listings, though its RJ7W and RJ45W pages describe the jacks working as a pair, the RJ7W noting that each jack lifts half the vehicle frame. Order two to lift the whole vehicle. The Challenger RJ04-PK is not a jack: it is a single air/hydraulic pump kit for converting an RJ4.5. If a page does not state the quantity, ask us before ordering.
Are the adapters and air-line kit included?
Stackable pad adapters are included on most models, and where the page publishes the sizes they are listed -- for example 1-5/16 in. and 5 in. on the Tuxedo RAJ-8K, 2.5 in. on the AMGO RJ-6H and RJ-6A, 3 in. and 6 in. on the QSP JW-9000 and the AMGO RJ-20A, and four 3 in. stack adapters on the Challenger RJ9A. Several listings publish no adapter detail; ask us for the spec sheet. Air-line kits are optional and sold separately on the BendPak bridge jacks, and the Norco bridges require a separate 79326D or 79327D adapter kit to connect their universal mounting bracket to the pit or lift rails. Compatible with a lift is not the same as shipping with the hardware to mount to it.
Two listings disagree on a spec. Which do I trust?
The BendPak RBJ25000 is a 25,000 lb. jack by model name and description, but the entire specification table on that listing is a copy of the RBJ18000's, including an 18,000 lb. capacity line; treat 25,000 lb. as correct from the model name and description and confirm every dimension, the arm reach and the shipping weight against the manual before you quote freight. The JMC Equipment RJ-45 lists "Hand Pump - No Air needed" in its features and a compressed air pump in its description, and the Tuxedo RAJ-7K-L feature list calls it a low mount design for high position jack rails while its opening paragraph describes a high mounting height design; in both cases the feature list and the spec table are the reliable lines. AMGO publishes two different heights, an overall minimum height and a minimum rubber pad height, so use the pad figure for drive-over clearance. When a spec matters to your install, ask us to pull the manufacturer sheet first.