JMC Automotive Equipment carries 87 jack stands and vehicle support stands from 11 manufacturers: Norco Industries, ESCO, Mahle, AME International, Zinko, Ranger, Challenger Lifts, Tuxedo, Martins Industries, iDEAL and BendPak. They run from 3/4-ton under-hoist stands for exhaust and driveline work, through a 3-ton ratchet pair that slides under a passenger car, up to a 100-ton AME support stand, and from a 9.5 in. collapsed height up to a Ranger high-reach stand that extends to 89 in. The category also includes one non-stand item, the Norco 81036A under-hoist hydraulic jack, which reaches 94.375 in. and is made for lifting and positioning exhaust systems, shock absorbers and MacPherson struts. All equipment is new.
Because "jack stand" covers several different tools here, the first decision is not capacity but what the stand is rated to hold. Some carry a truck axle; others are not rated to support a vehicle at all, and exist only to take weight off an exhaust or driveshaft while the vehicle stays on a lift.
The main families of stand in this category
Automotive jack stands
Steel base, lifting column, saddle, rated to hold the vehicle and used in pairs or better. The Norco 81004C is 3 tons each stand, 12 in. to 17.5 in. The Ranger RJS-6T pair supports up to 6 tons (12,000 lb) with the two stands used together, 15.5 in. to 24.5 in. The Martins Industries MJS-3T lifts 11-13/16 in. to 17-3/8 in. The AME 14361 is 4 tons per stand, 13.8 in. to 21.81 in., on a triangular base, and AME lists it for low profile vehicles or custom cars. Zinko describes its ZJS-031 (3 tons, 10.63 in. to 16.53 in.), ZJS-1218 and ZJS-1228 as designed to assist in stabilizing vehicles on a lift and to support vehicle components under the vehicle, not as the primary support. Heights in this family stay under roughly 30 in.
Heavy duty and truck jack stands
Same idea, far more steel. The Norco 81225 holds 25 tons each stand on a 3/8 in. thick solid steel base plate, 12 in. to 20 in. The ESCO 10455-PAIR holds 22 tons per stand on a 1/4 in. thick base plate measuring 11 x 11 in., and the Mahle CSS-35 series is rated 70,000 lb each. Low collapsed height matters here: the Norco 81205 and Mahle CSS-7 both start at 9.5 in., low enough for a forklift frame or a loaded trailer.
Screw jack stands and locking-collar stands
These adjust on a threaded column and lock with a collar, so you meet the load exactly where it sits. The ESCO 10802 covers 16.5 in. to 26.5 in. and the 10803 covers 26 in. to 46 in., both 20 tons per stand on a 13 x 13 in. base. AME lists the same concept as OTR screw-style stands: the 14410 at 16.5 in. to 26.7 in. and the 14415 at 26 in. to 46 in. Zinko covers the middle with the ZJS-1218 (12 ton, 17.95 in. to 27.95 in.) and ZJS-1228 (12 ton, 27.95 in. to 41.92 in.).
Under-hoist and high-reach stands
Tall single-column stands that reach up to a vehicle already in the air. Read the intended use, because several are restricted. Norco states the 81033A and 81034A, both 3/4 ton and 55.25 in. to 81.5 in., support vehicle components, not the vehicle. Zinko says the same of the ZHS-150 (1.5 ton, 55.31 in. to 85.23 in.). Ranger states both duties for the RJS-1T and RJS-1TF (1,650 lb, 54.5 in. to 80.5 in.) and the RJS-2TH (4,000 lb, 60 in. to 89 in.): holding drive-train or exhaust components in position, and stabilizing a vehicle already raised on a lift. That puts them alongside the Norco 81035A rather than with the component-only stands. The Norco 81035A is the exception rated to assist in supporting a raised vehicle: 1-1/2 ton, 48.875 in. to 85.375 in., used in pairs. The Challenger TP4000 is 2 ton, 55.5 in. to 76 in., with four height positions 5.6 in. apart, and disassembles for storage.
High-rise support stands for raised heavy vehicles
The BendPak MLS-18 is rated 18,000 lb, adjusts from 48.75 in. to 74.5 in. across 9 pin positions, plus 3.5 in. of screw pad adjustment on a 1 in. diameter self-locking ACME screw, and is specified for use in sets of 4, 6 or 8. The iDEAL MSC-STAND18X is ALI certified at 18,000 lb, locking from 48-5/8 in. to 69-7/8 in. The gas-spring Mahle CVS-7H (14,000 lb each) and CVS-10H (20,000 lb each) both reach 72.1 in. on a 21.8 x 21.8 in. base, and Challenger Lifts offers the CLHM-7-THR at 14,000 lb and the CLHM-10-THR at 20,000 lb. Of these, only the iDEAL MSC-STAND18X states a lift requirement, and it is model-specific: for use on MSC-18K-X mobile column lifts. The BendPak MLS-18 must be placed under a level, raised vehicle at the support points designated by the vehicle manufacturer. The Mahle CVS and Challenger CLHM listings do not name a lift type.
One pair sits outside these families: the AME 14985 wing jack stands, sold in pairs at 3 tons per stand, 19 in. to 31.5 in., which AME lists as ideal for light aircraft.
Capacity: per stand or per pair?
The catalog is not consistent between brands, and the difference is a factor of two. Mahle and Norco rate per stand: the Mahle CSS-25 lists 50,000 lb each, the Norco 81012 lists 12 tons each stand. ESCO rates most of its line per stand and says so in the spec row, as with the 10804 at 25 ton per stand and the 10455-PAIR at 22 ton per stand. Two exceptions rate the pair: the 10436 is 13 ton per pair across its name, features and spec row, and the 10472 spec row reads 5 ton per pair.
On three AME models the title is the pair total and the spec is the per-stand half: the 14360 (9 ton / 4.5 tons per stand), the 14425 (24 ton / 12 tons per stand) and the 14720 (10 ton / 5 tons per stand). Four others do not reconcile and need a call before ordering: the 14400 and 14401 are both titled 40 ton but specify 22 tons per stand, which is 44 for the pair; the 14405 is titled 22 ton and specifies 20 US (22 metric) tons per stand; and the 14361 is titled 4 ton but specifies 4 tons per stand. Martins also rates per pair: the MJS-3T supports up to 3.3 US tons per pair (6,600 lb), the MJS-6T up to 6.6 US tons per pair (13,200 lb). Ranger also quotes the pair total: the RJS-3T is 6,000 lb per pair for 3 tons, and the RJS-6T lists a 12,000 lb holding capacity and says two stands together support up to 6 tons.
A stand can also carry two numbers for two duties. The Norco 81050 trailer stand carries two separate ratings: a 100,000 lb static load capacity and a 15,000 lb lifting capacity. Match the rating to the duty you need and follow the operations manual on the model page.
Height range, and how to read it
Collapsed height decides whether the stand fits under the vehicle. Extended height decides how much room you get to work. The lowest starting heights are 9.5 in. on the Norco 81205 and 81205i, the Mahle CSS-7 and the ESCO 10436, and 9-1/2 in. on the Mahle CSS-3. The tall end belongs to the under-hoist family: the Ranger RJS-2TH reaches 89 in., the Norco 81035A 85.375 in., and the Tuxedo 3315-Stand 85-1/2 in. The Norco 81036A goes higher still at 94.375 in., but it is an under-hoist hydraulic jack for lifting and positioning components, not a stand.
Footprint grows with reach: the ESCO YAK stands measure 13.75 in., 17.32 in. and 26.75 in. wide (92019, 92020, 92021), all rated 22 ton.
Two AME models extend by changing tubes rather than pinning higher. The 14220 covers 23.55 in. to 34.05 in. as standard, and 34.05 in. to 44.55 in. with the optional 14220-002 medium tube, sold separately. The 14225 covers 31.85 in. to 42.35 in. with its included short tube. Three optional tubes, all sold separately, extend it in steps rather than continuously: the 14220-002 medium tube covers 42.35 in. to 52.85 in., the 14225-001 long tube 49.50 in. to 69.00 in., and the 14225-002 extra-long tube 65.25 in. to 84.75 in. Pick the tube that brackets the height you actually need, because the ranges do not overlap end to end.
Pin, ratchet or screw: how the column locks
Ratchet stands use a spring-loaded pawl holding constant pressure against the lifting column. Norco describes a positive lock handle on the 81004C that cannot be disengaged until the load is off the saddle column. They step in fixed increments: 0.5625 in. on the 81004C, 0.625 in. on the 81006D.
Pin stands drop a steel pin through the column, and that pin is the load path, which is why the type dominates at heavy capacity. The trade-off is granularity: the Norco 81225 adjusts to four height positions in 3 in. steps between 12 in. and 20 in., the 81210 lists 10 x 2 in. height intervals between 28 in. and 47 in., the Mahle CSS-10 adjusts in 1 in. increments, the ESCO 10804 has 6 pin positions. If the nearest hole sits 2 in. below your target, the vehicle settles that 2 in.
Screw stands and screw-top saddles close that gap. The ESCO 10456 is a pin column with an adjustable screw saddle adding 2 in. of fine height above its three axle positions, giving 15.5 in., 17.5 in. and 20.5 in., or 22.5 in. with the saddle extended. The AME 14405 uses an adjustable swivel allowing 2 in. of variance at locked settings. The Mahle CVS-10H adds a 5-1/2 in. screw-adjustable lift pad range above its 2.8 in. pin increments. The CVS-7H lists the same 5-1/2 in. range in its features but its specification table gives a 3 in. screw extension; use the table figure and confirm with us.
Saddles matter too. ESCO offers the same 3-ton stand three ways: the 10497-PAIR with an axle top post, the 10499-PAIR with a flat top rubber cushion post in a short style (11 in. to 17 in.), and the 10498-PAIR kit with both. The Tuxedo 3320-Stand uses a V saddle for exhaust or driveshaft work.
What you need in the shop
These stands are mechanical: they adjust by ratchet, pin or screw, and none of the listings declare an electrical requirement. Assist systems are mechanical or pneumatic. Gas-spring assist is stated on the Mahle CVS-7H and CVS-10H and the Challenger CLHM-10-THR. Plain spring assist is stated on the ESCO 10493 (spring assisted main shaft), the iDEAL MSC-STAND18X (spring assist on the pillar) and the BendPak MLS-18 (spring assisted center tube). Shop air is required by the two Mahle air-assist models, the CSS-35A and CSS-35AT; neither listing states the pressure or volume, so call us before you plan the install.
Floor and ceiling are the real constraints. Base footprints run from 6.96 x 7.64 in. on the Zinko ZJS-031 and 7 x 7.5 in. on the Ranger RJS-3T up to 32 in. in diameter on the BendPak MLS-18, whose three legs each present an 11 square inch floor pad. If you are buying stands that extend past 80 in., measure ceiling height and lift travel together.
Specify mobility up front on the heavy units. The ESCO 10459 adds two transport wheels and a 49 in. removable handle; the AME 14401 uses heavy-duty wheels so the technician does not have to get under the equipment to set the stand. Several listings also state the buyer is responsible for unloading freight on arrival.
Certifications declared on these listings
- ASME PASE-2019: a certification row on the Martins Industries MJS-3T and MJS-6T.
- ASME PASE 2014: the Mahle CSS-7, CSS-7T, CSS-10, CSS-10T, CSS-12, CSS-12T, CSS-25, CSS-25T, CSS-35, CSS-35P, CSS-35T, CSS-35A and CSS-35AT listings, which state they are built to meet or exceed the standard and are manufactured in the U.S.A. The CSS-3 and CSS-3T state U.S. manufacture without naming the standard; the CVS-7H and CVS-10H listings declare neither.
- ASME PASE and OSHA requirements for stabilizing loaded and unloaded trailers: the Norco 81022B, 81022Bi and 81050.
- ASME standards, tested by an A2LA certified facility: the ESCO 10497-PAIR, 10498-PAIR and 10499-PAIR.
- ALI certified: the iDEAL MSC-STAND18X.
- Certified to 150% of stated capacity: the AME 14405. The AME SLJS100-28A supplies certificates of conformity.
Comparison of representative models
| Model | Capacity as listed | Min. height | Max. height | Adjustment | Sold as / use |
| Zinko ZJS-031 | 3 ton | 10.63 in. | 16.53 in. | Self-locking ratchet | Pair |
| Martins MJS-3T | 6,600 lb per pair | 11-13/16 in. | 17-3/8 in. | Pin, 5 holes, 1-1/8 in. | Pair |
| Ranger RJS-6T | 12,000 lb per pair | 15.5 in. | 24.5 in. | Safety ratchet | Pair |
| Norco 81205 | 5 tons each stand | 9.5 in. | 15.75 in. | Pin, 3 x 2 in. | Not stated - call |
| Mahle CSS-7 | 15,435 lb each | 9.5 in. | 16 in. | Pin, 1 in. | Pair |
| ESCO 10455-PAIR | 22 ton per stand | 14 in. | 20 in. | Pin, 3 positions | Pair |
| Norco 81225 | 25 tons each stand | 12 in. | 20 in. | Pin, four positions, 3 in. steps | Not stated - call |
| Mahle CSS-35T | 70,000 lb each | 21 in. | 33.3 in. | Pin, 1.5 in. | Pair |
| ESCO 10803 | 20 ton per stand | 26 in. | 46 in. | Screw with locking collar | Each |
| Norco 81210 | 10 tons each stand | 28 in. | 47 in. | Pin, 10 x 2 in. intervals | Not stated - call |
| BendPak MLS-18 | 18,000 lb | 48.75 in. | 74.5 in. | 9 pin positions plus 3.5 in. screw pad | Sets of 4, 6 or 8 |
| Mahle CVS-10H | 20,000 lb each | 53.4 in. | 72.1 in. | Pin, 2.8 in., plus 5-1/2 in. screw pad | Individually |
Where the listings disagree
Where a product name and its specification table conflict, the table is the more reliable figure.
- ESCO YAK names quote different heights than their spec tables: the 92019 name says a 10.70 in. minimum, the table 12.25 in.; the 92020 name says 16.61 in., the table 17.50 in.; the 92021 name says 27.24 in. to 47.24 in., the table 27.36 in. to 47.25 in. The AME 14410 and 14415 do the same between their names and their feature lists (16.54 in. vs 16.5 in., 26.18 in. vs 26 in.). Use the specification figures.
- The ESCO 10472 name says 5 ton capacity per stand and its feature list says only "5 Ton (10,000 lb.) capacity", while its specification row reads 5 ton per pair. Confirm the rating with us before ordering.
- The AME 14400 and 14401 are both titled 40 ton per pair, but each specifies 22 tons per stand, which would total 44. The 14405 is titled 22 ton and specifies 20 US (22 metric) tons per stand. The 14361 is titled 4 ton for the pair but specifies 4 tons per stand. Confirm the rating with us before ordering.
- The Mahle CVS-7H feature list gives a 5-1/2 in. lift pad screw adjustable range, while its specification row reads a 3 in. screw extension. Confirm the fine-adjustment range for your application.
- The Tuxedo 3320-Stand headline calls it a 3 ton jack stand, but its features and body text both give 3/4 ton (1,650 lb), and the listing notes it is not designed for vehicle support.
- The Challenger CLHM-10-THR states 53 in. to 72 in. in one line and 49 in. to 83 in. in another. Confirm the range for your application.
- The Challenger TP4000 lists both "Designed to Support Vehicle (works best in pairs)" and "Use to Support Vehicle Components" in the same feature list. Confirm the duty with us before using it under a vehicle.
Frequently asked questions
Is the listing for one stand or a pair?
It varies by model, and each listing states it. Sold in pairs: the Mahle CSS-3, CSS-7, CSS-10, CSS-25, CSS-35 and their T variants, which state "Sold in pairs" and carry "(Pair)" in the model name; the Martins MJS-3T and MJS-6T; the Ranger RJS-3T and RJS-6T; and the ESCO 10436, 10455-PAIR, 10456, 10459, 10472, 10497-PAIR, 10498-PAIR and 10499-PAIR. The Mahle CSS-35A and CSS-35AT drop both the "(Pair)" suffix and the "Sold in pairs" line the rest of the CSS series carries, so confirm the quantity with us before ordering. Tall and heavy singles are usually sold individually: the ESCO 10802, 10803, 10804, 10805 and YAK stands, the AME 14410, 14415 and 14419, the Zinko ZJS-1218 and ZJS-1228, and the Mahle CVS-7H and CVS-10H.
How many stands does a vehicle need?
Follow what the manufacturer states for that model. Norco prints "ALL STANDS ARE INTENDED TO BE USED IN PAIRS" on the 81004C, 81006D and 81012, and states the 81035A "should be used in pairs". Its 81022B trailer stabilizer is "sold individually but generally used in pairs". Other Norco listings do not state a quantity, so follow the operations manual for the model. BendPak specifies the MLS-18 in sets of 4, 6 or 8, placed under a level, raised vehicle at the support points designated by the vehicle manufacturer. Zinko requires a minimum of four ZHS-150 stands when stabilizing a vehicle on a lift. Never plan around a single stand carrying a vehicle.
What is the difference between a jack stand and an under-hoist stand?
A jack stand carries the vehicle after you raise it with a jack. An under-hoist stand reaches up to a vehicle already supported by a lift, and several models here are rated only for components: Norco limits the 81033A and 81034A to vehicle components, and Zinko says the ZHS-150 is not designed or intended to support vehicles. To hold the vehicle itself, choose from the jack stand or high-rise support families.
Do you carry anything above 35 tons?
Yes. The ESCO 12500 crib stand set contains models 12501, 12502 and 12503 at 3 in., 6 in. and 9 in., each rated 55 ton and 12 in. in diameter, designed to interlock and stack for varying lift heights. The AME SLJS100-28A is a 100 ton support stand with 28 in. of adjustment, supplied with a saddle and custom extension, with custom heights determined at time of order.